Christmas Bird Counts Coming Soon


Birding at Duck Hollow (photo by Kate St. John)

‘Tis the season to count birds.

Audubon’s 120th annual Christmas Bird Count (CBC) is about to begin. Every year from December 14 through January 5 volunteers count the birds they see in a single 24-hour period within 15-mile diameter “count” circles.

It’s easy to participate. No experience is necessary.  Count at your feeders or in the field. Count on your own or in a group.

Choose a location and date that suits you from the map at audubon.org.  Click on the bird icon inside the circle for a description and contact information, then contact the Count Coordinator to let them know you’re counting. The Coordinator makes sure you don’t double-count someone else’s territory and helps you join a group if you wish.

17 counts are planned in southwestern Pennsylvania, listed in the table at the end.

I’ll be counting in the Pittsburgh circle on Saturday, December 28. It has so many participants that each section has its own compiler.  Click here on the ASWP website for the sections and contacts.

(map from audubon.org)

Visit Audubon’s website for the complete list and map at “Join the Christmas Bird Count.”

I hope to see you in the field!

Table of 2019 Christmas Bird Counts near Pittsburgh

Count Name County (general area) Date Coordinator Contact Info
Beaver Beaver Sat Dec 21 Rick Mason richarddmason@gmail.com 724-847-0909
Buffalo Creek Washington Sun Dec 15 Larry Helgerman bobolink1989@gmail.com 412-508-0321
Buffalo Creek Valley Butler, Armstrong Sat Dec 14 George Reese g.reese@gaiconsultants.com, 724-353-9649
Bushy Run Westmoreland Sun Dec 29 Dick Byers otusasio@lhtot.com 724-593-3543
Butler Butler, Lawrence, Mercer Sat Dec 14 Glenn Koppel & Mary Alice Koeneke macatilly@gmail.com
macatilly@icloud.com
703-203-3362
703-203-6337
Clarion Clarion Sat Jan 4 Debbie McCanna dmcc1018@windstream.net 724-526-5693
Clarksville Greene Sat Dec 28 Terry Dayton tdayton@windstream.net 724-627-9665
Grove City Butler, Mercer, Lawrence, Venango Sat Dec 21 Brendyn Baptiste brendynbaptiste@yahoo.com 724-496-4856
Imperial Allegheny,
Washington
Sun Jan 5 Bob Mulvihill robert.mulvihill@gmail.com
Indiana Indiana Thu Dec 26 Roger & Marg Higbee 724-354-3493
412-309-3538
bcoriole@windstream.net
rvhigbee@windstream.net
Ohiopyle Fayette, Somerset Sat Jan 4 Matt Juskowich 412-999-0394 jusko88@yahoo.com
Pittsburgh Allegheny Sat Dec 28 Brian Shema, ASWP bshema@aswp.org ASWP Christmas Bird Count
Pittsburgh
South Hills
Allegheny Sat Dec 14 Nancy Page 412-221-4795
Rector Westmoreland Sun Dec 15 Annie Lindsay LindsayA@carnegiemnh.org 724-593-7521
Ryerson Greene Fri Dec 20 Marjorie Howard birdwatcher108@comcast.net 724-852-3155
South Butler Butler Sat Jan 4 Chris Kubiak ckubiak@aswp.org 412-963-6100
Washington Washington Sun Dec 15 Thomas Contreras tcontreras@washjeff.edu 724-223-6118

(photo by Kate St. John, maps from audubon.org)